Draycote Winter Handicap Saturday 15 January 2005

On Saturday 15 January the Sprint15 fleet visited Draycote Water Sailing Club for the third event of the winter traveller series. This is the first open meeting since the class changed it's name from Dart 15 to Sprint 15 and also the first visit to Draycote where there is a growing fleet of 7 Sprint 15 boats. 22 boats entered with 5 locals and 17 travellers, who came from as far a field as Shanklin IoW (4), Grafham (6), Angmering (2), Halifax, Beaver, Queen Mary, Carsington and Stewartby. The weather was mild with a Southerly force 2 wind and principal race officer, Chris Avery, set a large square course. In the first race Steve Sawford was first to the windward mark followed by George Carter, Paul Smith and Frank Sandells. G Carter took the lead on the first lap and led the race to the finish. P Smith finally overtook Sawford on the last lap to make the finishing sequence G Carter, Smith, Sawford, Bob Carter and Chris Black.

After lunch there was a one-lap Pro-Am race in which the experts talk the less experienced sailors around to improve their skills. This was an exciting affair with lots of shouting but great fun. It was the local new member Jonathan Stone (aided and abetted by 'Pro', Paul Smith) who was the outright winner.

Race 2 was run back-to-back with the Pro-Am Race and Charles Watson, determined to make no mistakes in the freshening wind, tore into a large lead from Gordon Goldstone, Smith, G Carter and Philip Howden. Watson held on to the lead for the first 2 laps but was finally taken by G Carter. The final sequence was G Carter, Watson, Smith, R Carter and Goldstone.

Thus, after a pleasant days sailing, George Carter won the day with two first places from Paul Smith and Bob Carter.

The next event in the series is 13 February at Queen Mary Sailing Club.

Overall Results
1st G Carter Grafham 2pts
2nd P Smith Beaver 5pts
3rd R Carter Grafham 8pts
4th C Watson Halifax 10pts
5th S Sawford 12pts
6th G Goldstone Queen Mary 12pts

Pro-Am Results
1st J Stone Draycote
2nd R Gall Carsington
3rd J Shenton Shanklin
4th P Slater Draycote
5th P Tanner Shanklin

For the full results, see the series table here.