North Devon Yacht Club: Sport Nationals
Friday 6th - Sunday 8th June 2014

3 Days of Blasting were had at the Sprint 15 Nationals 2014

Over 30 competitors travelled to Instow, Devon for the Sprint 15 National Championships 2014 sponsored by Gill, Windsport and Doombar. Competitors have come from 15 clubs right across the country. Conditions brought easterly squalling gusts of 6-7 with meaty channels of wind funneling off the land.

Race 1

The fierce off-shore wind and the flood tide made the start of the first race fairly challenging. The course was port rounding 5 laps of triangles & sausages. Many of the more experienced racers were on the money and field split quickly. The high winds brought many gear failures and retirements. Paul Grattage and Kevin Dutch were the two class acts and whilst most racers were in survival mode downwind the leaders streaked ahead. Paul took the win with Kevin 2nd and Steve Sawford 3rd.

Race 2
The tide stopped running and the wind held its strength. The race got away cleanly and again Paul took the lead with Kevin in 2nd & Stuart Snell 3rd. Gusts off the land enticed a few swimming lessons and the rescue boats did good work keeping everyone safe. One gust was recorded in the tower at force 9 when a squall came through with driving bullets of rain.

Race 3

The last race of the day had the field depleted down to 16 but the survivors battled round the 4 laps and this time Kevin Dutch managed to win, Paul was 2nd and pride of NDYC Fraser Manning was 3rd. The fleet retired to the bar and discussed the best pitch pole of the day. One sailed described his experience as being launched as if from a medieval catapult over a castle wall!

Race 4
Day 2 conditions brought a wind shift to the SE and a drop of breeze to a more manageable 4-5. Racing moved from being more tactical and less survival. Many of the racers were pretty happy with this considering the aches and pains of yesterdays 3 races. The course was changed and was starboard rounding of triangle and sausages. Paul led from start to finish and Stuart Snell & Kevin Dutch kept him honest but by the end the three were miles ahead.

Race 5

The tide has started to ebb and the fleet was pulled over the start line. It was recalled and started successfully with Kevin Dutch leading the way. Kevin needing to win this race to stay in contention for the championship. He was still in the lead until lap 3 when disaster struck, a shroud snapped and he lost the rig. The last lap brought 180 degree wind shifts and conditions ranging from force 1 to 5. Holes appeared in the wind and some leaders found themselves becalmed and then swamped. Paul Grattage powered his way through the fleet and took the win and the championship. Fraser Manning took a deserved 2nd and Robert England was 3rd.

Race 6

Conditions for day 3 had increased and the wind was blowing SE 5-6. The race was delayed by 15 minutes to let the tide come in a bit more. The start was crowded as all the sailors had confidence in their ability from the last 2 days racing. All started cleanly and the fleet streaked to the windward mark. The 1st mark was reasonably close to shore and sailors were pinching up the beach trying to lay it. Many did not judge it correctly and found themselves aground! After 4 laps Kevin was 1st with Paul 2nd and Steve Sawford 3rd.

The results were tallied and Paul Grattage (Shanklin) was declared 2014 Sprint Nation Champion 2014. Kevin Dutch was 2nd (Seasalter) and Fraser Manning 3rd (NDYC). The Pro Am was won by Anthony Grey and Liam Thom. Stuart Snell won the veterans class.

Paul Grattage Sprint 15 Sport National Champion 2014
Paul Grattage Sprint 15 Sport National Champion 2014
Approaching a mark
Approaching a mark
The competitors!
The competitors!


Click for: Full Results with all Sub-Competitions

Competitors Races - 6 of 6 Sailed (No. of Discards: 2) Event Placings
Name Sail ClubRace 1Race 2Race 3Race 4Race 5Race 6Points Place
Paul Grattage458Shanklin Sailing Club1 1 2 1 1 2 41
Kevin Dutch1938Seasalter Sailing Club2 2 1 3 31 DNC1 62
Fraser Manning1500Beaver Sailing Club7 4 3 6 2 6 153 ²
Stuart Snell2016Grafham Water Sailing Club4 3 8 2 6 31 DNC154 ²
Steve Sawford1733Rutland Water Sailing Club3 5 5 7 5 3 165
Liam Thom1957Shanklin Sailing Club5 6 13 13 4 8 236
Paul Craft1267Worthing Sailing Club8 31 DNC4 14 9 4 257
Ed Tuite Dalton1940Draycote Water Sailing Club10 7 6 8 10 7 288
Robert England1351RYA12 31 DNC12 4 3 31 DNC319 ¹
Anthony Gray1893North Devon Yacht Club13 13 9 9 8 5 3110 ¹
Sam Heaton685North Devon Yacht Club31 DNC8 11 5 13 9 3311
Erling Holmberg2007Shanklin Sailing Club11 10 7 12 7 17 3512
George Love1825Carsington Sailing Club6 9 31 DNC10 15 14 3913
David Groom1714Netley Sailing Club14 12 10 11 16 11 4414
Derek James1744Draycote Water Sailing Club9 11 14 21 12 18 4615
John Manning1955Beaver Sailing Club15 15 15 24 14 15 5916
Richard Mole1929Parkstone Yacht Club16 14 17 23 20 13 6017
Ian Mounce1951North Devon Yacht Club31 DNC16 31 DNC16 19 10 6118
Richard Chidwick1396North Devon Yacht Club18 31 DNC16 20 21 16 7019
Mark Bunyan1343Stewartby Water Sports Club17 31 DNC31 DNC19 17 19 7220
Alex Raymont525North Devon Yacht Club31 DNC31 DNC31 DNC18 11 21 8121
Keith Heason1424North Devon Yacht Club31 DNC31 DNC31 DNC15 18 31 DNC9522 ¹
Keith Chidwick1840Queen Mary Sailing Club31 DNC31 DNC19 25 31 DNC20 9523 ¹
Simon Fleet1936North Devon Yacht Club31 DNC31 DNC18 17 31 DNC31 DNC9724
Roger Bone1681North Devon Yacht Club31 DNC31 DNC31 DNC31 DNC31 DNC12 10525
Andrew Heath1256North Devon Yacht Club31 DNC31 DNC31 DNC27 22 31 DNC11126
Nick Day1888North Devon Yacht Club31 DNC31 DNC31 DNC31 DNC31 DNC22 11527 ²
Dane Stanley1543North Devon Yacht Club31 DNC31 DNC31 DNC22 31 DNC31 DNC11528 ²
David Warren1711North Devon Yacht Club31 DNC31 DNC31 DNC26 31 DNC31 DNC11929
Wayne Silver1272North Devon Yacht Club31 DNC31 DNC31 DNC31 DNC31 DNC31 DNC12430