Marconi Sailing Club TT : Summer Series
Saturday 23rd - Sunday 24th April 2016

21 competitors took part in the first 2016 Summer TT at Marconi SC on 23rd and 24th April.  We were particularly pleased to welcome a number of new faces – who had participated in the Association Training Day run by Howard Hawkes the previous weekend.

A decent northerly breeze and cold temperatures meant it did not feel very summery but did provide great racing conditions across both days.  Race 1 was a round the cans and the breeze fell away to fairly light conditions to start with.  Jenny Ball led round the windward mark, closely followed by David Ball, Paul Grattage and Liam Thom.  Paul and Liam pulled ahead on the downwind leg and led for the next two lap followed by Jenny, David and Chris Tillyer.  For lap 3 a strong breeze filled in with a shift making for multiple changes at the front of the fleet - although Paul's lead was unassailable - Chris came in second followed by David and Kevin Kirby.

Race 2 was the now legendary long distance figure of eight race around Osea and Northey Islands.  With a strong if inconsistent northerly breeze, this proved to be one of the fastest round the island races with a fetch for much of the race.  Paul Grattage took an early lead, chased hard by Kevin Kirby, David Ball, Chris Tillyer and Liam Thom.  Stuart Snell soon caught up the pack and was in the front runners at the turning point at Northey Island.  The rest of the fleet were close behind with a lot of position changes on the leg back round the back of Osea Island.  After a real blast of a race, the fleet finished pretty close together with Paul Grattage leading followed by Kevin Kirby, Stuart Snell, David Ball and Liam Thom.  The fleet headed in to thaw out over a well-deserved evening meal.

Sunday morning saw another day of strong northerly breezes and flat water.  The start of race 3 saw a bunching at the pin end of the line and a couple of boats tacked off from the rest of the fleet to get into clear air.  Paul Grattage who went left up the course rounded the mark first followed by Jenny Ball who had gone right with the rest of the fleet close behind chasing down the reach.  Paul Grattage continued to lengthen his lead with very close racing between Jenny, Steve Healy, Stuart Snell, David Ball, Kevin Kirby and Liam Thom.  Wind shifts made for some interesting tactics particularly on the windward legs and very competitive racing throughout the fleet.  Paul Grattage took first, followed by Stuart Snell, Kevin Kirby and Jenny Ball.

For Race 4, the wind had strengthened including the odd Force 6 gust.  Line bias again meant that the fleet bunched at the pin end, and this time a larger number of boats tacked off up the right hand side of the course with Donald Sloan and Erling Holmberg making good gains and coming in with the front of the pack coming in from the left hand side.  David Ball led off on the reach closely followed by the rest of the pack.  By the second lap, David had pulled out a decent lead with Paul Grattage and Liam Thom chasing – whilst Chris Tillyer, Kevin Kirby, Stuart Snell, Jenny Ball and Daren Fitchew battled out behind.  Paul managed to work his magic again and eventually got past David to take the win, with Liam in third followed by Chris, Stuart and Kevin.

The fleet headed home after an exhilarating weekend of sailing!   Big thanks go to the Race Officer, Race Committee and Support boat crews who had a very cold time of it whilst we all enjoyed ourselves.  Congratulations to the newer members of the fleet who found themselves sailing in breezier conditions than they were used to – but got on really well anyway!  And Thorpe Bay made an impressive start to the newly introduced Traveller Team Trophy with a turnout of six competitors.

Rank SailNo Club HelmName Race 1 Race 2 Race 3 Race 4 Total Nett
1st 2018 Shanklin Paul Grattage -1 1 1 1 4 3
2nd 1923 Marconi SC David Ball 3 4 -7 2 16 9
3rd 1776 Marconi SC Kevin Kirby 4 2 3 -6 15 9
4th 2016 Grafham Stuart Snell -7 3 2 5 17 10
5th 1957 Shanklin Liam Thom 5 5 -6 3 19 13
6th 1953 Thorpe Bay Chris Tillyer 2 8 -9 4 23 14
7th 1917 Marconi SC Jenny Ball 6 -7 4 7 24 17
8th 1921 Thorpe Bay Steve Healy 8 -16 5 10 39 23
9th 1981 Thorpe Bay Jim Bowie -9 6 8 9 32 23
10th 1642 Thorpe Bay Darren Fitchew -12 10 10 8 40 28
11th 2007 Shanklin Erling Holmberg 10 9 12 (22.0 DNF) 53 31
12th 1240 Felixstowe Ferry Donald Sloan -19 11 11 14 55 36
13th 1963 Thorpe Bay Gary Sverdloff -17 13 16 11 57 40
14th 1755 Thorpe Bay Rob Bailey 13 14 14 -15 56 41
15th 1521 Marconi SC Dave Clarke 18 15 (22.0 DNF) 12 67 45
16th 1461 Brightlingsea Gordon Deuce 14 -18 13 18 63 45
17th 1267 Snettisham Beach SC Howard Hawkes 11 (22.0 OCS) 22.0 DNF 13 68 46
18th 1840 Queen Mary Keith Chidwick 15 -19 15 16 65 46
19th 1947 Brightlingsea Andrew Berisford 16 (22.0 DNF) 17 17 72 50
20th 1428 Marconi SC Andy Perks -20 17 18 19 74 54
21st 1983 Marconi SC Peter Richardson (22.0 DNC) 12 22.0 DNC 22.0 DNC 78 56


Full Series Results available here

Una Fleet
CompetitorsEvent Placings
NameSailClubFormatHandicap PlaceFleet Place
Paul Grattage2018East Down Yacht ClubUna Rig11
David Ball1923Marconi Sailing ClubUna Rig22
Kevin Kirby1776Marconi Sailing ClubUna Rig33
Stuart Snell2016Grafham Water Sailing ClubUna Rig44
Liam Thom1957Shanklin Sailing ClubUna Rig55
Chris Tillyer1953Thorpe Bay Yacht ClubUna Rig66
Jenny Ball1917Marconi Sailing ClubUna Rig77
Steve Healy1921Thorpe Bay Yacht ClubUna Rig88
Jim Bowie1981Thorpe Bay Yacht ClubUna Rig99
Daren Fitchew1642Thorpe Bay Yacht ClubUna Rig1010
Erling Holmberg2007Shanklin Sailing ClubUna Rig1111
Donald Sloan1240Brightlingsea Sailing ClubUna Rig1212
Gary Sverdloff1963Thorpe Bay Yacht ClubUna Rig1313
Rob Bailey1755Thorpe Bay Yacht ClubUna Rig1414
Dave Clarke1521Marconi Sailing ClubUna Rig1515
Gordon Deuce1461Brightlingsea Sailing ClubUna Rig1616
Howard Hawkes1267Snettisham Beach SCUna Rig1717
Keith Chidwick1840Queen Mary Sailing ClubUna Rig1818
Andrew Berisford1947Brightlingsea Sailing ClubUna Rig1919
Andy Perks1428Marconi Sailing ClubUna Rig2020
Peter Richardson1983Marconi Sailing ClubUna Rig2121