Thorpe Bay Yacht Club TT : Summer Series
Saturday 23rd - Sunday 24th July 2016

O’ ye of little Faith

So even though we advertised the sea breeze which we knew would come, you unbelievers who didn’t attend missed out on a blast of a weekend. The easterly made it to 18 miles an hour (at least) by the second race of the first day. The South Westerly made it up to 15 miles per hour then supplemented by the – yes you’ve guessed it- sea breeze swung round to the south and cranked up to a recorded 21 miles per hour. We were flying around.

So, to the nine believers who came and flew around the cans at blatting speed, well done and thank you. For all you non-believers – Have faith next time!


Day 1

So we awoke on Saturday expectant of the sea breeze to find it already building at 10am. By the time we were on the water it was a good 10- 12 mile easterly and building all the time. Race 1 was led all the way by David Ball (1923) with Chris Tillyer (1953), Kevin Kirby (2020), Gary Sverdloff  (1963) and me (Steve Healy 1921) hot on his heels, we however could not bring him to heel and it was 1st for David Ball, 2nd Chris Tillyer 3rd Gary Sverdloff and 4th  for me.

Race 2 saw the breeze picking up to close to 18 miles an hour and the fleet swapping sides of the course as the port tackers won the day on the last race, however this time it was the starboard tackers that won the advantage with not much chance of catching them. 1st over the line was Howard Hawkes (1267) followed by Jim Bowie (2021) then Kevin Kirby and David Ball.

Race 3 saw the breeze drop a little although not much and some fantastic sailing was had by all contestants. The usual suspects were joined by George Love (2019) in his new boat with the Race officer making the course much longer there were a lot of challenges at the front  with Kevin, Chris, Myself, George and David all changing places although it was David Ball who won the race with Chris Tillyer 2nd, George Love 3rd and me 4th.

Day 2

Race 4. So the forecast was 13 miles per hour SW and we set off safe in the knowledge that usually the forecast is under by at least 5 miles per hour, sure enough by the start of race 1 it was up to 15-16 albeit a bit flaky in places. I tacked off on Port really early which paid off massively as I rounded the weather mark with almost a whole leg between me and the next boat which was Howard Hawkes – I think – This carried on for the next two laps, however the god of wind took my luck back by dropping me in a hole where I watched Howard Hawkes and George love sail straight over me with Kevin Kirby far too close for comfort. So George nailed it with his first ever TT win in 20 years of sailing in them, Gary Sverdloff(1963) 2nd, Kevin Kirby 3rd and yours truly 4th and yes I was seeing the pattern by then!

Race 5 with the wind up to 20 miles an hour plus gusts it was traveller trimming conditions! Once again the usual suspects were vying for position at the front, ending up with Chris Tillyer and me vying for the top slot, an early port tack by me put me in front on the last beat and I managed to hold my nerve for the first slot- a first ever for me as well – Gary Sverdloff got the second slot with Kevin Kirby 3rd and Chris Tillyer 4th.

George Love and I both achieved first place for the first time in a Traveller/TT race. George has been waiting a long time (20 years) and this win is a testament to George’s skill and the quality of the new White formula boats. Thorpe Bay provided Six prizes, 3 for the top 3, 2 for George and I for winning our first ever race at one of these events and for Stefan Smith for his determination and dedication to racing.

My thanks go to the Race Officer, Race Committee, Support boat crews, all the people behind the scenes and to everyone who came to the event.

Steve Healy

Thorpe Bay Yacht Club


Place Points Sail No Helm Club Race 1 Race 2 Race 3 Race 4 Race 5
          23-Jul 23-Jul 23-Jul 24-Jul 24-Jul
1 11 1923 David Ball Marconi SC 1 4 1 -8 5
2 13 1921 Steve Healy TBYC 4 -15 4 4 1
3 14 2020 Kevin Kirby Marconi SC (25/OCS) 3 5 3 3
4 17 1953 Chris Tillyer TBYC 2 9 2 -12 4
5 18 2019 George Love Carsington 9 5 3 1 -14
6 19 1267 Howard Hawkes Snettisham Beach SC 7 1 -9 2 9
7 21 1963 Gary Sverdloff TBYC 3 -14 7 9 2
8 21 2021 Jim Bowie TBYC -8 2 6 5 8
9 26 2011 Gary Burrows TBYC 6 7 (25/DNF) 7 6
10 35 1988 John Pearse Marconi SC (25/OCS) 6 8 14 7
11 38 1983 Peter Richardson Marconi SC 10 8 10 10 -17
12 47 1642 Daren Fitchew TBYC 11 10 -17 16 10
13 48 1551 Keith Persin TBYC 5 13 -18 18 12
14 49 2004 Gordon Goldstone Queen Mary SC 15 -17 15 6 13
15 49 1755 Rob Bailey TBYC -17 16 11 11 11
16 56 1240 Donald Sloan Felixstowe Ferry SC 13 12 -16 15 16


Full Series Results available here

Una Fleet
CompetitorsEvent Placings
NameSailClubFormatHandicap PlaceFleet Place
David Ball1923Marconi Sailing ClubUna Rig11
Steve Healy1921Thorpe Bay Yacht ClubUna Rig22
Kevin Kirby2020Marconi Sailing ClubUna Rig33
Chris Tillyer1953Thorpe Bay Yacht ClubUna Rig44
George Love2019Carsington Sailing ClubUna Rig55
Howard Hawkes1267Snettisham Beach SCUna Rig66
Gary Sverdloff1963Thorpe Bay Yacht ClubUna Rig77
Jim Bowie2021Thorpe Bay Yacht ClubUna Rig88
Gary Burrows2011Thorpe Bay Yacht ClubUna Rig99
Jon Pearse1988Marconi Sailing ClubUna Rig1010
Peter Richardson1983Marconi Sailing ClubUna Rig1111
Daren Fitchew1642Thorpe Bay Yacht ClubUna Rig1212
Keith Persin1551Thorpe Bay Yacht ClubUna Rig1313
Gordon Goldstone2004Queen Mary Sailing ClubUna Rig1414
Rob Bailey1755Thorpe Bay Yacht ClubUna Rig1515
Donald Sloan1240Brightlingsea Sailing ClubUna Rig1616
John Manning1955Beaver Sailing ClubUna Rig1717
Alan Grant1825Thorpe Bay Yacht ClubUna Rig1818
Duncan Ford1973Thorpe Bay Yacht ClubUna Rig1919
Colin Rigg2012Thorpe Bay Yacht ClubUna Rig2020
Stefan Smith1525Thorpe Bay Yacht ClubUna Rig2121
Paul Morgan1954Thorpe Bay Yacht ClubUna Rig2222