Thorpe Bay Yacht Club TT : Summer Series
Saturday 28th - Sunday 29th April 2007

Photos From the event available here

The Sprint 15 open meeting at Thorpe Bay was overshadowed by Bob Carter the Sprint Association Events Secretary being taken to hospital. Bob Carter is one of the most dynamic sailors in the world of catamaran sailing, and we all wish him a speedy recovery.

The event was sponsored by Bluewater Strategies. There were twenty six entries including fourteen from the home TBYC which is now recognised as a major club for the Sprint class. The conditions for the first day were ideal for cat sailors, who generally prefer a brisk wind. The force 4-5 ENE wind, enabled Alan Willis the race officer to set a square course with a windward leg, along the Southend shore. In the first race, the windward mark became separated from its ground tackle, which meant the inflatable buoy drifting downwind towards the committee boat. Some of the sailors spotted this, whilst others sailed into the distance in vain.

The first day was dominated by Kevin Dutch (Seasalter SC), Howard Hawkes (Thorpe Bay), and Charles Watson (Halifax SC). After the initial problems with the windward mark, the fleet settled down to some of the most exhilarating sailing that can be had. The Sprints enjoy square courses with two scintilating close reaches.

The second day started with a pro-am race. This is an unique feature of the Sprints whereby the fleet leaders will each take a "novice" to give on-the-water tuition. The winner of this race was Nick Miller (Marconi SC).

After the pro-am race, the open meeting resumed. This time, the wind was less than on Saturday. But there were a few capsizes nonetheless. The Saturday leaders were made to struggle, where Peter Tovey (Marconi SC) and Chris Maloney, John Long, Martyn Ellis (all TBYC) showed they had a few tricks to play.

The Saturday entertainment was a meal in the clubhouse followed by a riotous singalong with Soggy Doggie with his guitar.

The winner of the Pro-Am race was Nick Miller (Marconi SC).

Thorpe Bay TT Winner: Kevin Dutch
Thorpe Bay TT Winner: Kevin Dutch
Exciting Momment!
Exciting Momment!
Racing at Thorpe Bay
Racing at Thorpe Bay


Full Series Results available here

Una Fleet
CompetitorsEvent Placings
NameSailClubFormatHandicap PlaceFleet Place
Kevin Dutch1938Seasalter Sailing ClubUna Rig11
Charles Watson1237Halifax Sailing ClubUna Rig22
Peter Tovey1115Marconi Sailing ClubUna Rig33
Howard Hawkes1643Snettisham Beach SCUna Rig44
Peter Richardson1983Marconi Sailing ClubUna Rig55
John Long1133Seasalter Sailing ClubUna Rig66
James Tovey1812Marconi Sailing ClubUna Rig77
Gordon Goldstone2004Queen Mary Sailing ClubUna Rig88
Duncan Ford1973Thorpe Bay Yacht ClubUna Rig99
Martyn Ellis1981Thorpe Bay Yacht ClubUna Rig1010
Chris Maloney1585Thorpe Bay Yacht ClubUna Rig1111
Kyle Stoneham1148Thorpe Bay Yacht ClubUna Rig1212
Gerald Sverdloff1642Thorpe Bay Yacht ClubUna Rig1313
Andrew Hannah1520Thorpe Bay Yacht ClubUna Rig1414
Keith Bartlett1962Open Dinghy ClubUna Rig1515
Steven Tunnacliffe1343Halifax Sailing ClubUna Rig1616
Les Hurrell-Smith1397Marconi Sailing ClubUna Rig1717
Darren Kiggins1985Thorpe Bay Yacht ClubUna Rig1818
Nick Miller1033Marconi Sailing ClubUna Rig1919
Chris Jesse1932Lee on the Solent Sailing ClubUna Rig2020
Rob Denman1954Thorpe Bay Yacht ClubUna Rig2121
Ian Cosgrove1740Thorpe Bay Yacht ClubUna Rig2222
Elliott Fougman127Thorpe Bay Yacht ClubUna Rig2323
Gary Sverdloff1231Thorpe Bay Yacht ClubUna Rig2424
Fenella Miller1759Marconi Sailing ClubUna Rig2525
Theresa Ryall1333Thorpe Bay Yacht ClubUna Rig2626

Windsport Voucher Winners:

Chris Jesse15
Peter Tovey10
Les Hurrell-Smith5