Southern Championship Thorpe Bay Yacht Club TT : Summer Series
Saturday 26th - Sunday 27th June 2010

The Sprint 15 Southern Championships were held at Thorpe Bay Yacht Club on the weekend of 26-27 June. The weather throughout the weekend was spectacular, with plenty of sunshine and enough wind to suit most tastes. The first day was the breezier of the two. A good easterly plus an added sea breeze made for scintillating conditions.

A feature of the weekend was how the local cadets leapt at the opportunity to race a catamaran, if one was available. The result was that five of the twenty four entries were under the age of eighteen. And for four of them, it was their first experience in a catamaran.

The first day of racing was dominated by Kyle Stoneham who won all three back-to-back races. Kyle is the reigning national champion of the Sprints and Tornados and others as crew. It is hard to believe he is only twenty three. Second was Dan Henderson who sailed a borrowed boat. Last weekend, Henderson was 5th in the Musto Skiff championships (74 entries) and the junior champion. Erling Holmberg, David Ball, Nick Dewhirst and Jenny Ball were in the positions that followed.

The following day was lighter. There were three national race officers on the committee boat, led by Phil Crawford. They delayed the Sunday race to allow the sea breeze to fill, which it quickly did. This time, Stoneham had to work harder. He was beaten into sixth place which he discarded. And in the last race, he was second to Dan Henderson who had a well deserved win. Theresa Ryall surprised everyone, not least herself, with a third in that race!

The overnight leaders held onto their positions at the final count.


Full Series Results available here

Una Fleet
CompetitorsEvent Placings
NameSailClubFormatHandicap PlaceFleet Place
Kyle Stoneham1148Thorpe Bay Yacht ClubUna Rig11
Danny Henderson469Thorpe Bay Yacht ClubUna Rig22
Erling Holmberg2007Shanklin Sailing ClubUna Rig33
David Ball1488Marconi Sailing ClubUna Rig44
Nick Dewhirst2006Whitstable Yacht ClubUna Rig55
Jenny Ball1917Marconi Sailing ClubUna Rig66
Eamonn Browne1861Marconi Sailing ClubUna Rig77
Howard Hawkes1643Snettisham Beach SCUna Rig88
Chris Boshier1551Thorpe Bay Yacht ClubUna Rig99
Gordon Goldstone2004Queen Mary Sailing ClubUna Rig1010
David Hopper1391Thorpe Bay Yacht ClubUna Rig1111
Andrew Hannah1818Thorpe Bay Yacht ClubUna Rig1212
Gerald Sverdloff1933Thorpe Bay Yacht ClubUna Rig1313
Jon Finch1890Stewartby Water Sports ClubUna Rig1414
Daren Fitchew1642Thorpe Bay Yacht ClubUna Rig1515
Gary Burrows1871Thorpe Bay Yacht ClubUna Rig1616
Theresa Ryall1333Thorpe Bay Yacht ClubUna Rig1717
Mark Wiltshire1585Thorpe Bay Yacht ClubUna Rig1818
James Hurst565Grafham Water Sailing ClubUna Rig1919
Mark Rushton1530Stewartby Water Sports ClubUna Rig2020
Tally Eyre1520Thorpe Bay Yacht ClubUna Rig2121
Will Thomason127Thorpe Bay Yacht ClubUna Rig2222
David Brook1821Thorpe Bay Yacht ClubUna Rig2323