Draycote Water Sailing Club TT : Winter Series
Saturday 7th January 2012

17 visitors joined 7 home boats to contest the 3rd round of the ever popular Sprint 15 Winter TT series. This included 4 incredibly enthusiastic sailors from the Isle of Wight who had to get up at 4:30 am to make the race start!

Due to low water levels a square course was set around the Draycote shallows and this provided an interesting tactical option after the start – risk sailing a long starboard leg and damaged rudders on the shallows or tack off onto port and go up the right hand side of the beat. In the gusty and variable wind no option seemed to provide a consistent result and many places could be lost or gained.

However the usual suspects of Stuart Snell and Mark Aldridge proved most consistent and they took the first two places in the initial race.

The wind strengthened in the second race to the point where a capsize was a distinct possibility and the gusts on the downwind legs could easily catch helms unawares and lift both rudders out of the water.

The strengthening winds caused an increase in ‘incidents’ including Christine Roman scoring a direct hit on George Stephens port hull and capsizes from Andy Bunyan and Derek James. Despite the shallows Derek James’s boat was the only one to hit the reservoir bottom but this was with the top of the mast!

So at the end of the second race the top two places were again taken by Mark Aldridge and Stuart Snell but this time the positions were reversed causing a tie on points. After adding the times for the two races Stuart Snell was crowned the eventual TT winner with Mark Aldridge in second and Pete Slater in third.

After a confusing start to the second race Graham Collett managed to recover sufficient places to come fourth overall with Isle of Wight sailor Erling Holmberg coming fifth and Simon Miles in sixth.

Link to full race results
Jan Elfring
Jan Elfring
Andy Bunyan
Andy Bunyan
The Fleet
The Fleet


Full Series Results available here

Una Fleet
CompetitorsEvent Placings
NameSailClubFormatHandicap PlaceFleet Place
Stuart Snell1982Grafham Water Sailing ClubUna Rig11
Mark Aldridge19Grafham Water Sailing ClubUna Rig22
Peter Slater1627Draycote Water Sailing ClubUna Rig33
Graham Collett1941Draycote Water Sailing ClubUna Rig44
Erling Holmberg2007Shanklin Sailing ClubUna Rig55
Simon Miles1827Stewartby Water Sports ClubUna Rig66
Ed Tuite Dalton1940Draycote Water Sailing ClubUna Rig77
Jon Finch1890Stewartby Water Sports ClubUna Rig88
Liam Thom554Shanklin Sailing ClubUna Rig99
Gordon Goldstone2004Queen Mary Sailing ClubUna Rig1010
Robert Finch1838Stewartby Water Sports ClubUna Rig1111
Jan Elfring1913Draycote Water Sailing ClubUna Rig1312
Stuart Dyer1739Shanklin Sailing ClubUna Rig1413
George Stephen1594Queen Mary Sailing ClubUna Rig1514
Christine Roman1925Shanklin Sailing ClubUna Rig1615
Simon Hare1970Oxford Sailing ClubUna Rig1716
Ian Hope1939Draycote Water Sailing ClubUna Rig1817
Andy Bunyan1289Stewartby Water Sports ClubUna Rig2018
Stewart Pegum1918Oxford Sailing ClubUna Rig2119
Philip Warner1756Draycote Water Sailing ClubUna Rig2220
Sport Fleet
CompetitorsEvent Placings
NameSailClubFormatHandicap PlaceFleet Place
Robert England1351RYASport121
Derek James1744Draycote Water Sailing ClubSport192