Northern Championships Draycote Water Sailing Club TT : Summer Series
Saturday 14th July 2018

14 visitors joined 9 home Draycote sailors despite a low wind forecast.

The start of the first race was delayed, to allow the wind to fill in. This allowed the local fishing competition armada to steam past the club house and set up at several points around the lake to make it more interesting in the ever changing conditions experienced during the day.

To be fair to the fishermen, they did motor off when the fleet was flipping and flopping around them.

Race 1

The usual trapezoid course was set, and the race officer did his best to set the line and windward mark.

Erling Holmberg was a sole port flyer and gained an advantage but during Race 1 we all experienced a massive shift.

This proved to be the theme for the day and there were many losers and winners, then winners and  losers..

The most polite description from Jenny Ball who won R1 was it was like Snakes and Ladders.

George Love managed to T-Bag himself at this point..

Stuart Snell as always performing well got second and top placed local sailor Pete Slater got third.

Side note. Pete Slater was moaning in the bar afterwords about not getting a toot from the race officer but got some excellent advice from Dave Rowe, Draycote Manager, which was "if you want a toot then just win!"

Race 2

Ed Tuite Dalton was first round the windward mark but then Liam overtook him and eventually won.

Stuart Snell 2nd, Pete Slater 3rd

Yvonne Pike had forgotten to fit her windhawk so went in on this race to get it.

This significantly helped her, and she came 5th in race 4.


Race 3

In this race it became very HOT and we did 3 laps. 7 or 8 boats had got around the windward mark on the final lap then when the wind died they finished well ahead.

Steve Pell notably was first over the line, unfortunately before the gun..

The rest of the fleet just about made it round the course and crawled over the line. Paul Grattage won this race with local Draycote sailor Ant Clay getting a good second, and Mr Consistency Snell got 3rd. At one point in the race Stuart was chasing down Paul but they were on different tacks but going in the same direction!

Derek James was in a fantastic position in 5th round windward mark in this race but lost out going past the committee boat but still managed his best result of the day in 12th

Race 4

Liam Thom won, good show from Nigel James in 2nd, [who had been 20th  in race 3] and Paul Grattage 3rd.

In other news

In  the fleet is was good to see Simon Hare again and new Draycote member Lee Leech compete in his first event.

Simon seems attached to the number 17 currently having come 17th in the Marconi, 3 Piers Race and 17th overall at Draycote [ 3 x 17ths and a 9th ]

Lee has got the bug again and hopefully we will see him again on the circuit.

It was also good to see that the launching trolleys stayed where we put them after the debacle at Weymouth Nationals.

Jan Elfring


Pictures by Alan Howie Wood

Rank Sail Number Sailing Club HelmName R1 R2 R3 R4 Total Nett
1st 1957 Shanklin Liam Thom 4.0 1.0 (6.0) 1.0 12.0 6.0
2nd 2022 Grafham Stuart Snell 2.0 2.0 3.0 (7.0) 14.0 7.0
3rd 2025 Marconi Jenny Ball 1.0 5.0 5.0 (14.0) 25.0 11.0
4th 2018 Shanklin Paul Grattage 9.0 (10.0) 1.0 3.0 23.0 13.0
5th 1940 Draycote Water Sailing Club Pete Slater 3.0 3.0 7.0 (10.0) 23.0 13.0
6th 2015 Marconi Nigel James 10.0 6.0 (20.0) 2.0 38.0 18.0
7th 1662 Draycote Water Sailing Club Ant Clay 8.0 9.0 2.0 (24.0 DNC) 43.0 19.0
8th 1913 Draycote Water Sailing Club Jan Elfring 5.0 (15.0) 10.0 6.0 36.0 21.0
9th 2019 Carsington George Love (12.0) 12.0 4.0 8.0 36.0 24.0
10th 1211 Shanklin Erling Holmberg 6.0 4.0 15.0 (24.0 DNF) 49.0 25.0
11th 1917 Marconi Jason Clarke 15.0 (16.0) 8.0 4.0 43.0 27.0
12th 1952 Shanklin Andrew Jefferies 7.0 7.0 14.0 (16.0) 44.0 28.0
13th 2023 Draycote Water Sailing Club Ed Tuite Dalton 11.0 8.0 9.0 (13.0) 41.0 28.0
14th 2004 Queen Mary SC gordon Goldstone (19.0) 14.0 11.0 11.0 55.0 36.0
15th 1988 Marconi Jon Pearse (13.0) 11.0 13.0 12.0 49.0 36.0
16th 1744 Draycote Water Sailing Club Derek James 16.0 13.0 12.0 (17.0) 58.0 41.0
17th 2026 Oxford SC Simon Hare (17.0) 17.0 17.0 9.0 60.0 43.0
18th 1220 Shanklin Yvonne Pike 23.0 (24.0 DNF) 18.0 5.0 70.0 46.0
19th 1616 Draycote Water Sailing Club Lee Leech 18.0 (22.0) 16.0 18.0 74.0 52.0
20th 1736 Draycote Water Sailing Club Bill Hurr 14.0 18.0 21.0 (24.0 DNC) 77.0 53.0
21st 1947 Brightling Sea A Berisford (22.0) 21.0 19.0 15.0 77.0 55.0
22nd 1700 Draycote Water Sailing Club Steve Pell 20.0 20.0 (24.0 OCS) 19.0 83.0 59.0
23rd 378 Draycote Water Sailing Club David Rowe 21.0 19.0 (24.0 DNF) 24.0 DNC 88.0 64.0


Full Series Results available here

Una Fleet
CompetitorsEvent Placings
NameSailClubFormatHandicap PlaceFleet Place
Liam Thom1957Shanklin Sailing ClubUna Rig11
Stuart Snell2022Grafham Water Sailing ClubUna Rig22
Jenny Ball2025Marconi Sailing ClubUna Rig33
Paul Grattage2018East Down Yacht ClubUna Rig44
Peter Slater1940Draycote Water Sailing ClubUna Rig55
Nigel James2015Marconi Sailing ClubUna Rig66
Ant Clay1662Draycote Water Sailing ClubUna Rig77
Jan Elfring1913Draycote Water Sailing ClubUna Rig88
George Love2019Carsington Sailing ClubUna Rig99
Erling Holmberg1211Shanklin Sailing ClubUna Rig1010
Jason Clarke1917Marconi Sailing ClubUna Rig1111
Andrew Jefferies1952Shanklin Sailing ClubUna Rig1212
Ed Tuite Dalton2023Draycote Water Sailing ClubUna Rig1313
Gordon Goldstone2004Queen Mary Sailing ClubUna Rig1414
Jon Pearse1988Marconi Sailing ClubUna Rig1515
Derek James1744Draycote Water Sailing ClubUna Rig1616
Simon Hare2026Oxford Sailing ClubUna Rig1717
Yvonne Pike1220Shanklin Sailing ClubUna Rig1818
Lee Leech1616Draycote Water Sailing ClubUna Rig1919
Bill Hurr1736Draycote Water Sailing ClubUna Rig2020
Andrew Berisford1947Brightlingsea Sailing ClubUna Rig2121
Stephen Pell1700Draycote Water Sailing ClubUna Rig2222
David Rowe378Draycote Water Sailing ClubUna Rig2323