Stewartby Water Sports Club TT : Winter Series
Saturday 11th November 2023

Position Helm Club Sail R1 R2 R3 Net
1 Liam Thom Shanklin 2034 2 1 1 2
2 Jason Clarke Marconi 2037 1 6 4 5
3 Scott Wilcox Stewartby 1359 5 4 2 6
4 Jenny Ball Marconi 2025 3 3 5 6
5 Jeremy Franklin Draycote 1930 7 2 15 9
6 Nigel James Marconi 2015 8 10 3 11
7 George Love Carsington 2019 4 19 7 11
8 Derek James Draycote 1940 9 5 6 11
9 Jon Pearse Marconi 2035 11 8 8 16
10 Yvonne Pike Shanklin 1965 6 13 11 17
11 Ray Gall Carsington 2028 10 9 13 19
12 Mark Patten Stewartby 1702 13 11 10 21
13 Dave Clarke Marconi 1776 15 7 16 22
14 Andy Bunyan Stewartby 1899 16 15 9 24
15 Colin Wright Stewartby 1292 18 14 12 26
16 Christophe Clarke Marconi 1988 14 12 14 26
17 Rob Finch Stewartby 1990 12 16 20 28
18 Ian Pasquet Stewartby 1431 17 17 17 34
19 Stuart Yates Stewartby 1343 18 18 18 36

Hot competition in the variable conditions shook up the status quo.

With a forecast of variable (5-10 mph) winds and sunshine, a pleasant day was on the cards for the nineteen entries to the first Dart 15 TT of the Winter Series.

In time honoured tradition Brian Finch greeted the visitors at the gate and soon after boats were rigged and ready to go. Race Officer Richard Hargreaves then gave his normally concise race briefing whilst multi tasking preparing the after race soup and serving the bacon sarnies.

Race 1.

Just prior to the race the 2 minute silence was observed then the start sequence commenced.

Right from the off the favourites led the way with Jason Clarke (Marconi) heading the fleet followed by Liam Thom (Shanklin) and Jenny Ball (Marconi) with Yvonne Pike (Shanklin) and George Love (Carsington) biting at their heels. On lap two, the upwind leg shifts played their tricks and Yvonne managed to get in front of Jenny and then led the charge after Jason and Liam. As they passed through the gate for the last lap Jason was sailing so fast he was out on his own and Liam was lying a comfortable second. The next four places however, led by Yvonne, were being hotly contested but a split on the beat with Liam and Jenny going right which put Jenny back in third place with tight competition amongst those who had stayed left.  Race one ended Jason, Liam, Jenny, George, Scott Wilcox (Stewartby), Yvonne, Jeremy Franklin (Draycote).

Race 2.

As the racers approached the start, a new sailor whilst trying to keep clear, managed to go into irons in front of the line close to the committee boat. Seconds before the gun he had drifted onto port exactly where the bulk of the approaching boats were headed. Minor chaos ensued and there were a few winners a few losers as a result. George, well placed for a good start and hoping for another top placing was well and truly stuffed! By the time they had sorted themselves out George was lying a solid last.  George kindly took the opportunity to sail the course with the newcomer and offer some guidance and assistance through to the end of the race, despite remaining in last place himself – what a very sportsmanlike thing to do. It was admirable how he and the other boats caught up in the chaos took the situation in their stride and the good nature and understanding displayed is a proud trait of our Dart 15 class racing.

At the first mark Scott briefly headed the way but soon lost the lead on the downwind leg where Jason was going particularly fast and by the end of the lap Jason led followed by Jeremy, Liam, Scott, Jenny, Ray Gall (Carsington) and David Clarke (Marconi). Lap two commenced and it was all change on the beat as Jason took a shift and stayed right only to find a hole costing him six places, leaving Jeremy heading the way. Meanwhile, Jenny went up the middle with Derek James (Draycote) gaining two and three places respectively. Jeremy held on to the lead right to the end but Liam tacked early after mark four and managed to just pip Jeremy on the line.  Going through the line and heading into the final lap the positions were Jeremy, Liam, Jenny, Scott, Derek and Jason. The downwind was particularly close with the front group varying their route but at the mark the placing remained. As the finish approached however, Jeremy who had led for most of the race had Liam hot on his heals and as they tacked for the line, Liam accelerated out of the turn a little faster and just pipped Jeremy for line honours with Jenny third followed by Scott, Derek, Jason, David Clarke (Marconi).

Race 3.

The wind was swinging north and continually dropping throughout the race, creating yet different conditions again.

The main contenders got off to a good start and most stayed left on the beat and at the first mark Liam headed the way followed by Nigel James (Marconi) and Scott who were neck and neck down the next to legs where Scott just nipped inside at the downwind mark. At the end of the lap these three had managed to create a bit of space between them and the rest of the fleet as the wind continued to drop. The following batch were however fighting for every inch and as they finished lap one Jenny was fourth followed by Jason, Yvonne, Andy Bunyan (Stewartby). As the wind became fickle the beat on the last lap created a number of encouraging or disheartening changes in the mid fleet. The most notable being Derek moving up 8 places, Mark Patten (Stewartby) gaining 5 places whilst Yvonne dropped 5 places. By the finish Jason had overhauled Jenny creating the final placing of Liam, Scott, Nigel, Jason, Jenny, Derek, George, Jon Pearse (Marconi).

Report by Scott Wilcox
Pictures by Dave Russell


Full Series Results available here

Una Fleet
CompetitorsEvent Placings
NameSailClubFormatHandicap PlaceFleet Place
Liam Thom2034Shanklin Sailing ClubUna Rig11
Jason Clarke2037Marconi Sailing ClubUna Rig22
Scott Wilcox1359Stewartby Water Sports ClubUna Rig33
Jenny Ball2025Marconi Sailing ClubUna Rig44
Jeremy Franklin1930Draycote Water Sailing ClubUna Rig55
Nigel James2015Marconi Sailing ClubUna Rig66
George Love2019Carsington Sailing ClubUna Rig77
Derek James1940Draycote Water Sailing ClubUna Rig88
Jon Pearse2035Marconi Sailing ClubUna Rig99
Yvonne Pike1965Shanklin Sailing ClubUna Rig1010
Ray Gall2028Carsington Sailing ClubUna Rig1111
Mark Patten1702Stewartby Water Sports ClubUna Rig1212
Dave Clarke1779Marconi Sailing ClubUna Rig1313
Andy Bunyan1899Stewartby Water Sports ClubUna Rig1414
Colin Wright1292Stewartby Water Sports ClubUna Rig1515
Christophe Clarke1988Marconi Sailing ClubUna Rig1616
Robert Finch1990Stewartby Water Sports ClubUna Rig1717
Ian Pasquet1431Stewartby Water Sports ClubUna Rig1818
Stuart Yates1343Stewartby Water Sports ClubUna Rig1919